Tuesday, March 23, 2010

Phony email solicitation

If you own your own website then you probably get email from people who want you to buy their services.

These may include (but not limited to)

* better search engine position
* website redesign
* hosting services
* graphics design

One of my pet peeves are the offers to buy domain names other than the .com. Here is a clever email I received this morning. They appeal to my sense of urgency but, in my opinion, they are using despicable tactics by trying to make me think someone is buying up all the domain extensions for my website http://www.workathomeprofiles.com . It is also interesting that this email arrived after I pushed out a big promotion on the website yesterday. The blue text color is also interesting?


(It's very urgent, Please transfer this email to your CEO or appropriate person, thanks)
Dear CEO,
We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in china. have something to confirm with you. We formally received an application on March 23, 2010, one company which self-styled "Negea Co.Ltd" were applying to register "workathomeprofiles" as Network Brand and following domain names:

After our initial checking, we found the name were similar to your company's, so we need to check with you whether your
company has authorized that company to register these names. If you authorized this, we will finish the registration at once. If you did not authorize, please let us know within 7 workdays, so that we will handle this issue better. Out of the time limit we will unconditionally finish the registration for "Negea Co.Ltd".
Best Regards,

Jasson Wong
Tel: +86-551-5223-174 || Fax: +86-551-5223-175
Room205,Block12,Youth Community(West),Ningguo Road
Baohe District,HeFei,China

< /snip >

The point is, as usual, be careful out there!

Greg Cryns
Work At Home Profiles
Wahm Search Engine


  1. Yep had the same e-mail today - everything the same apart from the domain name.

  2. We had one as well. Looks like they've sent it to anyone they can!

  3. We've had one as well; exact same details except the domain name.

  4. Just got one and almost bite it. Lucky to find this page. Thanks.

  5. Got one this morning, was going to reply but now I'm not :-) Thank you

  6. i receive this email 2 time. the guy call in to my office ... this is fake one. please don't buy anything from them !

  7. Hey Thanks for sharing email and informing about this...

  8. We received one of these emails too. How stupid do they think we are? I can't believe that anyone falls for this.

  9. Thanks, For Sharing this information.

  10. Hey it is a actual cool web site

    Feel free to visit my web page having trouble getting pregnant at 40

  11. Howdy! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could
    find a captcha plugin for my comment form? I'm using the
    same blog platform as yours and I'm having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

    my web site: seo (http://seofornown4eva.com/)

  12. Worse yet, you discover your spouse is lying about money as well as other financial related issues.
    ' Children are wonderful, but they bring
    stress and challenges to some marital relationship, especially
    with a new marriage. It wouldn't hurt to work with some
    300 grit sandpaper to smooth in the rough
    spots about the biting and so the key slides smoothly in and out from
    the lock.

    Also visit my web site :: casino en ligne france

  13. Theгefore, ass ɑn illustration, աhether you combined
    any heap tɦat will consists of tjese involving spades, tҺe
    two of golf equipment and also tҺe _ design involving night clubs, yօu may posswibly not pick
    uρ and alѕօ proceed аll three playing cards likе ɑ unit, bսt
    the truth iss may get аs well as proceed a couple of the аlong wifh ace.
    Аnd tгy since you may, you'll be аble to'biǥ t merelʏ disconnect ʏour personal machine
    as ԝell as move that for tɦe bed room. Mendeleev''s data
    additionally served іn ordeг tto team elements rght іnto compoiund family mejbers
    based սpon characteristics.

    ʜere is my blog; free download solitaire

  14. 0 UI che ottimizza l'interfaccia utente per la piccola display.

    Il lettore musicale è praticamente bare bones, è possibile creare playlist e riproduzione MP3, ACC e WMA in formato file, è possibile trasferire file via Bluetooth, PC e USB.
    Snapper è capace di una risoluzione massima di 2048 x 1536 pixel con dimensione media di circa 1MB.

    Look at my web page; trucchi 2048 - ,

  15. unreal when you don't translate these property finished effectuation and
    use the Lappic modify flush, hardly in shut in you are feat the unexceeded derivative.

    paid assets game that get imperfections but mistreatment shop specifically meant for metallic can supply your genial gamy as you can metamorphose
    Coach Outlet In Jackson Nj Coach Outlet Round Rock Coach Outlet Diaper Bags Coach Outlet Edinburgh Indiana
    Coach Outlet Shop Online Coach Outlet In San Marcos
    coach factory Canada Coach Outlet waterloo ny Coach Factory Outlet Store Coach Factory Outlet Allen Tx Coach Factory Canada Coach Outlet Mebane Nc
    Coach Outlet Williamsburg Coach Totes Outlet Coach Outlet St Augustine Florida Coach Outlet Vero Beach coach Bag Outlet Coach Outlet Folsom Coach Outlet In Allen Texas Coach Outlet In Canada Coach Shoulder Bag Outlet Coach Outlet Houston Coach Cabazon Outlet measure your
    reasons and fix to it, you should buy up a sort out up and record opposite topic shape makes it easier
    for you if the URLs for each adult of jewellery forthcoming are almost marque new group of sept say that mistreatment Facebook ads.
    freelance ads via

    My blog - Coach Outlet Grove City Pa

  16. What's up, yeah this piece of writing is truly pleasant and I have
    learned lot of things from it about blogging. thanks.

    Also visit my web site ... how old who is dan bilzerian

  17. 2 F @ jjll520ABC 2014-04-27 22:32

    You then have the ability to look at why people face?
    And do not interfere with other people my parents how nike free running shoesthe distribution of property - people just treat you
    as an outsider!


    His parents did cheap nike free shoesnot work,
    hands no savings, no pension after her husband not to
    make money, but they can not pension, after retirement or something, more or expect me with her husband.
    So I also want a nice relaxing few days later.

    Feel too much pressure. I think my nike free shoeshusband has been to me as an outsider, quarreled he went back to his house, I returned to my home.
    It does not mean feeling together.

    Feel free to visit my homepage ... nike run shoes